The student newspaper of Honolulu Community College

UH quarterback on Golden Arm award list

University of Hawai’i’s rising star quarterback Cole McDonald is one of twenty quarterbacks in the nation to be nominated for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm award for 2019. The golden arm award is to be given to the top senior quarterback to graduate with their class each year.

McDonald has padded his stats nicely to solidify a solid spot in the contest. ranking fourth in the nation in passing, averaging 325.8 yards per game, ranking fifth in the nation in passing touchdowns with 17, He has thrown for four touchdowns and eclipsed 300-yards in four of five games throughout the season so far.

McDonald leads the mountain west division in eight individual categories. Meanwhile he was the only quarterback in the mountain west that was nominated for the golden arm award also. In school history, only two other quarterbacks, Timmy Chang (2004) and Colt Brennan (2007) were finalists for the golden arm award.

McDonald is also on the watch list of the Maxwell Award and Davey O’Brien Award. The 2019 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® presented by A. O. Smith will be presented on Wednesday, Dec. 11, in Baltimore, Md.

here are the past standout winners for the award:

Past standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011); Marcus Mariota (University of Oregon, 2014); Connor Cook (Michigan State, 2015); Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2016), 2017 winner, Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State) and last year’s winner Gardner Minshew, II (Washington State).

%d bloggers like this: